My intention today? Enjoying the moment!

In a yoga class I attend on most Tuesdays (with the exception of today … the treadmill was calling …), the instructor begins class by telling the yogis to set an intention for their practice. Throughout the class, she reminds us to come back to our intention, helping wandering minds like my own keep the focus on what’s really important.  I was reminded of this today when I stumbled upon Intent.com, an intention database, if you will, that asks on its homepage “what’s your intent today?”  Intentions listed by website visitors read things like “myself,” “give,” “peaceful” and “great.”

After visting this site, I am reminded that setting my intention is applicable to more than just my yoga practice. Yoga, to me, is a metaphor for life – when my body finds new strength and power within itself, it’s like the evolution of my own spirit, constantly growing and changing, never reaching an endpoint. This website really reminded me of that by asking me to consider taking my intention into each hour of my day, staying present when my professor is speaking and my phone is buzzing and my inbox is overflowing.  Visitors of Intent.com can post their intentions for the day, and even post gratitude lists to share with other visitors. All you have to do is follow the instructions on the site, and join a group with a topic that interests you.  I like to make a gratitude list every night, if I can, before I go to sleep- it keeps me aware each day of all of the things I have to be grateful for- and, in those moments where I feel like I’m totally in the wrong place at the wrong time, it gives me a new perspective. What better than to share these moments with others? Share your intention, and your gratitude, with a friend today.  Or, try posting it on Intent.com!

