As many of you know, I’m a journalism major at Northeastern University.  This past semester, it was my time to go on co-op, which, for those of you non-huskies, is Northeastern’s 6-month internship program where students can gain experience in their respective field.  When I landed my second internship last July, I was faced with my usual dilemma – while I LOVED my job, it paid me in, well … love.  I’m all about doing whatever it is for the joy it brings me, but a girl’s got to eat (and buy shoes.)

That’s how I met my dear friend Mary Ann Georgantopolous.  During my time interning, I decided to work part-time at a wine shop on Boston’s Boylston Street to keep my Starbucks cup full … and my shoe collection healthy.  Mary Ann was my co-worker, and it was clear in very little time that she was what she liked to call our very special customers: “sunshine and light.”

Come to think of it, Mary Ann actually gave me one of the final pushes I needed to join a yoga studio and begin taking my practice to the next level – she always arrived at work after taking a Yoga class, and thanks to the power of example, I ended up attending her favorite studio shortly after she moved to New York City to start her career.

Now living and working in The Big Apple, Mary Ann has recently taken her sunshine into a web venture called KindaFantasticLife.  To quote my very good friend and blogger Marian Daniels, this website is definitely “today’s obsession.”

KindaFantasticLife, started by Mary Ann and her childhood friend Roula Haddad, is a blog that displays pictures of the wonderful joys we encounter everyday and posts them in the order. But … they can’t post all of these pictures alone!

That’s where YOU come in.  If you have pictures of anything that’s inspired you recently (come on ya’ll … earthquakes and recessions … we could use a little pick-me-up), send it to Mary Ann and Roula at kindafantasticlife@gmail.com.  Once they receive your picture, and any included captions, they’ll post it on the site and add it to the ever-growing collection of pictures they’ve acquired from around the world. I sent a few of mine in earlier today – love it!

One of the photos I submitted to KindaFantasticLife

So, next time you’re in search of things to add to your gratitude list, check out (and submit photos to) KindaFantasticLife.  We can’t be everywhere at once, but this blog helps us see all there is to smile about through anyone’s eyes.

Now, that’s “Om Shanti.”

