Every morning when I have that blissful morning moment, I ask myself:

Am I having a spiritual awakening, or am I just having a latte?

I have a friend who calls coffee her “liquid sunshine” – she even has it on a list that was approved by a paid professional of “things that make her happy.” I have another friend who has banned the substance altogether, acknowledging its addictive qualities and … well, just saying no to drugs.

Me? I am somewhere in between.  I would say I’m in a highly committed relationship with morning Joe, but I don’t need to see him at all hours of the day. And, it makes me smile when some of favorite Yoga instructors teach class with a cup of Starbucks either in-hand or close by. Ah, to be human.

I decided to do a little research on my drug of choice and see where the experts weighed in on the pros and cons of java consumption.  In the matter of “to brew or not to brew”, the opinions are all over the board. Some websites claim there is nothing even remotely positive about consuming any amount of caffeine, others say coffee is a great source of Antioxidants.  Here are some surprising facts I found America’s lifeblood:

1. Second to oil, Coffee is the second most highly traded commodity on earth. – www.theoatmeal.com

2. Coffee stimulates the same part of your brain as cocaine or heroin, just less. – www.thisblogrules.com

3. Decaffeinated products still have caffeine in them.  According to US regulations, a product needs only be less than 2.5% caffeine in order to be labeled as decaf. – www.thisblogrules.com

4. Coffee is a pesticide, “a naturally occurring compound found in the beans, leaves, and fruit of over 60 plants where it acts as a natural pesticide that paralyzes and kills certain insects feeding on the plants.” – www.wethechange.com

5. Coffee might enhance female sex drive … only if you’re not a regular consumer of java.  – www.livescience.com

6. Most Americans get most of their antioxidants from coffee consumption. – www.livescience.com

7. The US of A imports more than $4 billion dollars of coffee each year. Dayum. – www.coffeemarvel.com

Are you standing in line at starbucks or taking a stand against coffee culture? Tell me your opinion.

An old photo of me in my “happy place” – writing with a cup of Joe.

 

