Are you pushing, pushing, pushing to get yourself into bird of paradise and wondering why you walked into that darn yoga class in the first place? Wasn’t it to find whatever inner peace is?  Or no, maybe it was to have that teacher’s biceps…

I don’t think there’s anything wrong with finding bird of paradise.  When I do “find” it, trust me, you all will be the first to know.  However, I found myself feeling validated and refreshed after reading a deliciously soulful article by Nicole Lineyan on Yoga Modern regarding the relationship between finding your handstand and finding yourself on your mat. Perhaps most poignently, Lineyan remarked:

“It’s all well and good to be able to do tittibhasana. It’s more important to know who you are.”

For me, these days, yoga is about coming home to myself.  If “myself” has my feet behind my ears, thats all the better, but in the end, I am looking for that quiet reminder of the strength that lies within. I related to Nicole as she discussed why she practices:

“I practice to connect with that part of me that is untouched by suffering … to remember that no matter what is happening, at my core there is a light that is always shining.”

If you’re interested in checking out the entire article, click here to read “Is Yoga Changing with you?”

